Earthquake Papercraft


Having just finished the guitar papercraft project, I kind of felt that it would be better if I held off on building anything else for a while (partly because I’ve got no place to keep anything new, and because of how much time these things take). But, as I was writing up the blog entry, I got wrapped up in finding out what other papercrafts the Canon site has. The science kits in particular caught my interest, and I downloaded the patterns for the moon, the sun, an observatory, and a couple other things. Then I got to the Principle of Earthquakes…

I have two students, brothers, at the English school. They are currently reading from a British book on geography and Earth sciences. I figured that it might be interesting to build the earthquake papercraft to show it to them as part of their present studies. Since I had plenty of paper left over from the guitar project, it was easy enough to print the patterns out. Unfortunately, Canon kind of went overboard in forcing people to use up paper and ink in their plans to generate sales with these papercrafts – fully half the page for each sheet was completely wasted white space, and there’s 16 sheets in the pattern. That was disappointing. It would have been very easy to rearrange the pieces to only take up 7 A4 sheets. The instructions were obviously translated from the Japanese original, which mostly wasn’t too bad, but there were a few places where the steps were confusing and could have used more explicit descriptions. But otherwise, this wasn’t a very hard project to make. I work slow, so it took me about 6 hours from start to finish.

The finished box is 21 cm x 10 cm x 8 cm (8″ x 4″ x 3″), not including the subduction strip. The section with the ocean is designed to be raised up to reveal the mantle movement as illustrated by pulling on the subduction strip. Not really all that earth shattering visually, but fine as a teaching tool for young children.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

