Metal Puzzle 8 – Trefoil


Ok, now I’m almost ready to give up. This is the fourth of the new puzzles I’d gotten all at one time, and I just have no idea how to start it. I tried searching the net for solutions, and there didn’t seem to be anything posted yet, so I got ready to show the last of the puzzles to my students, and then I’d put them into storage to clean my desk off. I don’t feel like getting the last two puzzles from the set – Mill or Heart – partly because I’d probably have to get too many duplicates along the way. Besides, Mill looks like a variant of Star, and Heart seems a reworking of Bird. I don’t want them so badly as to spend the money needed to get them. In any case, it’s time for me to get back to all the other stuff I need to do.

I said “almost”. In trying to locate the website of the maker of these puzzles, which specifically states that they’re not providing solutions because part of their charm is that you may NEVER solve them, I stumbled on the IP4 information page, and solutions videos for all 10 puzzles. So, yeah, I know the answer now. And, I still stand by my original proclamation – I’m not good at these kinds of things. Even with the video, it took me 10 minutes to figure this one out, and another hour to be able to assemble and disassemble it consistently. It didn’t help that the person giving the solution in the video was pretty clumsy at it, too. Right now, I’m at the point where the total time to solve and reassemble Trefoil is about 5 minutes. Oof.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

