Gubree-buu Papercraft


I got the Guree-buu papercraft sheet (A4 size) from the architect at the same time I got the Sakura sheet. He seemed hesitant to give me Guree-buu, though, saying that it hadn’t been punched out. I’d commented that that was ok, I have experience making papercrafts with scissors and a cutting knife. It wasn’t until I actually sat down with Guree-buu that I realized why the guy might have not wanted to hand out this one. All the guide lines are missing. There are no marks showing where to cut slots for tabs, and some tabs are just white without indicators for how big they’re supposed to be. There’s no marking for the glue sections, and some pieces overlap, so when you cut out one part, like some of the tree-hair, you’re making holes into the adjacent part. The stand was supposed to be circular, but it had a big gap in it because that’s where one of the hand pieces was laid out. Some of the glue tabs on the face and the back of the head were too small and kept tearing free before the glue dried. I was able to fix that problem by cutting extra strips of paper and using them as reinforcement for the tabs. And I made the base square, using extra scrap for the skirt at the bottom. The front and back halves of the body were attached to the wrong section of the head assembly and needed to be cut off and reattached once the head assembly was fully completed.

Total assembly time came to five hours, since I had to test every cut to make sure that I was doing it right, and to give the glue time to dry.

Still, even with all the problems, I don’t think it turned out too badly.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

