Running out of ideas


I was thinking that I’d have to run an apology today because I didn’t have anything ready for the blog. As mentioned last week, I shot a lot of time playing Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker, and had used up all of my existing backlog. Plus, there’s been almost no activity from Gakken, so nothing to write about there.

I am getting frustrated with Gakken. I’ve been expecting an email newsletter to talk about their upcoming projects, but, nothing. I’ve been checking the editor’s blog, and that hasn’t updated since they announced the postcard giveaway for their “Science of Beautiful Skin” kit. I’m fully up to date on the Facebook articles, but the only thing recent there was the mention of the Slope Measurement Grand Prix, and that was just a competition for smart phone apps. I keep checking amazon.co.jp just in case the Auto Writer Doll kit gets listed, but that’s been a bust, too. Generally, Amazon lists the kits 2-3 months before the release date, even if there’s no cover artwork, just to be able to take pre-orders. Gakken has the Auto Writer as potentially coming out in July, but if it’s not on Amazon at this point, then I expect the ship date to slip another month or two, again.

Anyway, back to me. I wrote a while back that I’d gotten 400 loose LEDs for Christmas, and I’ve been considering, off and on, what to do with them. One specific idea involved having some kind of cylinder. But, since my apartment is so small and the only tools I have room for are an xacto knife and a pocket screwdriver set, my options for machining a cylinder out of aluminum or acrylic were kind of limited. But, just a few minutes ago, I used up the last of the plastic wrap, leaving me with a pretty hefty cardboard roll. I think I can start my project now.

Resourcefulness is just another word for desperation.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous

     /  May 26, 2014

    Sounds like they are fresh out of ideas! if that’s the case? there are people who like their publication to throw out a few idea concepts. Myself? I wouldn’t mind a solar energy article based on the Russian Soyuz spacecraft use of them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

