Dead River Builder


I experimented 3 years ago with a video blog review series on the Gakken Otona no Kagaku kits that I’d shot outside along the Tamagawa River near the apartment in Tokyo. I called it “The Dead River Builder” (because the Tamagawa is almost completely dried up along that stretch). I debated simply deleting the videos since they don’t show me holding the kits much during the review. I mostly just discuss the books that come with the kits. But, I figure that I can upload them to youtube now, and I can always come back and delete them later if I record something better in the future.

A review of the DC motor kit.

A review of the Galileo Telescope kit.

A review of the Putt Putt kit, part 1 of 2.

This boat is a cute little toy, but it lacks buoyancy. It sits low in the water and is easily swamped if there’s any kind of wave. The candles supplied are also too small and only allow for about one minute of play time before burning out. Still, it’s fun to play with in the bath or at a small pool.

Putt Putt kit, part 2 of 2.

A review of the Stirling Engine kit, part 1 of 3.

This engine is lots of fun. Mount it to a window on a hot day, put it over a cup of hot coffee, or place an ice cube on top, and it will run by itself for a couple of hours.

Stirling Engine kit, part 2 of 3.

Stirling Engine kit, part 3 of 3.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

